Planning Commission


  • 6 p.m.
  • 2nd and 4th Tuesday of every month
  • Council Chambers
    4060 Columbia Woods Drive
    Norton, OH 44203


Chair Ralph Dowling (Ward 3) Term: March 1, 2020 - February 28, 2023

Vice-Chair John Conklin (Ward 4)  Term: March 1, 2021 - February 28, 2024

James Lada (Ward 1) Term: March 1, 2020 - February 28, 2023

Marion Peterson (Ward 2) Term: March 1, 2020 to February 28, 2023

Ruth Stimac (Parks Board Representative) Term: March 1, 2021 to February 28, 2024

Power & Duties

The Planning Commission shall have such powers as may be conferred upon it by ordinance of the Council concerning the plan, design, location, removal, relocation and alteration of any public building or structure or those located on public streets or property, the location, relocation, widening, extension and vacation of streets, parkways, playgrounds and other public places, the zoning and rezoning of the Municipality for any lawful purpose, and such other powers as may now or hereafter be conferred upon it by ordinance of the Council or by the general laws of the State of Ohio to the extent not inconsistent with this Charter or such ordinances. All plans, recommendations and regulations made by the Planning Commission shall be submitted to the Council for approval before the same shall become effective.